Volume 3

Having recently returned from a fantastic vacation in Colorado, I have a greater appreciation for the rich history of this library and the wonderful patrons who have supported it for over 130 years.  I spent the majority of my time in Denver, the state capital.  The library is filled with an incredible historical archive, popular books, stunning architecture, helpful staff and so much more.  As I explored the archives, I saw that Colorado had European visitors and a Native American population but wasn’t fully settled until miners headed west with the Gold Rush until 1850.  1850!  New Canaan was founded a full 119 years earlier and the library was founded just 25 years later.  It really puts our longevity in perspective.  In the spirit of this amazing feat,  I hope this newsletter will become a part of that great service we have provided our patrons for many years to come.

I hope you enjoy this volume, helping connect you – our readers – to the writers you love.  I have developed many other tools to help connect our members with books. Please stop by, email or phone me to learn more.
Laurie Iffland
Resident Reader Advisor

Prebub

Pre-Publication Alerts

I love knowing ahead of time when my favorite author is coming out with a book.  I place my name on the list and know that as soon as it is published, I’ll have it in my hands!  Usually at the same time as the other 7 books I have placed on hold…

Take a look at these pre-pub books and place your reserve today!

Book of the Week bookoftheweeknew

The Martian by Andy Weir

I’ m  going out on a limb this week  I have chosen a science fiction book.  While it is one of my favorite genres, I understand people’s trepidation.  Really, I do. Futuristic science and technology, space travel, time travel, faster than light travel, parallel universes and extraterrestrial life.  It’s not for everybody.  But give this one a chance.  It is beautifully written, fast paced, and, no, there are no actual Martians. Prepare for a journey, told mostly through journal entries, of a man stranded on Mars and his seemingly insurmountable task of survival relying solely on his own ingenuity.

Do you have a title you think deserves a spotlight, let me know!

Was I able to pique your interest in reading other great science fiction titles?
Then why not try some of these!

 

Historical Fiction of World War IIhsfiction
It seems I am asked for suggestions on this genre almost everyday!  Here’s a list of some of my favorites.

Spotlight on Humorhumor
Happy April Fool’s Day!  In celebration of this most light-hearted of days, I offer you these humor filled reads.  So relax, put your feet up, read a book and have a laugh!

nonfictionWhat’s New in Non-Fiction?

What’s New in Digital Downloadsdigitaldownloads

Click on the link to stay up-to-date with new digital content.

What’s on Display.display
Mystery, History, Murder and Mayhem
Truly, my favorite kind of books!  Check out these hand picked mysteries at the top of the stairs on the mezzanine.
The Culinary Culture
Thanks to a great staff, we have a wonderful collection of cookbooks.  I have pulled a great selection and placed them by the feature films.  Take a look, I’ll think you’ll find some great recipes to try!
Multiple Copies
You may have noticed a large book display by the MakerLab.  It is filled with multiple copies of some great reads!  So take a look for yourself or your bookgroup, there’s plenty of titles to go around.

Great LinksGreatLinks
Literature Map:  Not only helpful, but it’s a lot of fun to play with. The user types in an author’s name and the website generates a web of other authors that have similar writing styles and genres. The closer the author’s name is to another, the more alike the authors are.  -INALJ.com
WhichBook is another fun site to play with as it helps you pick a book based on your mood, which you can do for free or sign up and create saved lists. The site provides a list of sliders, and you can choose 4 of the sliders to indicate your mood (are you looking for something more Happy or Sad, Expected or Unpredictable, Easy or Demanding, No Sex or Lots of Sex, etc…). Once you’ve indicated your tastes, it will provide you with a list that fits your mood (or you can explore their mood book lists).

-INALJ.com

young

Featured Reading Lists. featuredreadinglists
 
Click below to see a complete list of suggested titles.

All lists are developed by the staff of New Canaan Library and are part of our collection.

Leave a comment